The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Houston
   
 
  Dec 11, 2017
 
 
    
2012-2013 Undergraduate Catalog [Not Current Academic Year. Consult with Your Academic Advisor for Your Catalog Year]

Fall 2012/ Winter Mini Session 2012/Spring 2013/ Summer 2013


Academic Calendar  > Fall 2012/ Winter Mini Session 2012/Spring 2013/ Summer 2013

 

 

Timing is critical to University payment and refund processes. Before classes start, please review the following deadlines:

| Admissions | Enrollment Schedule | Financial Aid Applications | Payment and Refund Deadlines |

Events/
Deadlines
Fall 2012 Spring 2013 Summer 2013
Summer
Session 1
Summer
Session 2
Summer
Session 3
Summer
Session 4
First day of classes.

Please also see notes below Re: college specific dates; days summer sessions meet; and winter mini session information
August 27, 2012 Monday
* see notes
January 14, 2013 Monday
* see notes
June 3, 2013 Mon.
* see notes
June 3, 2013 Mon.
* see notes
June 3, 2013 Mon.
* see notes
July 8, 2013 Mon.
* see notes
Martin Luther King holiday.   January 21, 2013 Monday        
Last day to add a class. September 4, 2012 Tuesday January 22, 2013 Tuesday June 4, 2013 Tues. June 4, 2013 Tues. June 4, 2013 Tues. July 9, 2013 Tues.
Labor Day holiday. September 3, 2012 Monday          
ORD - Official Reporting Day
(12th/4th class day).
September 12, 2012 Wednesday January 30, 2013 Wednesday June 6, 2013 Thurs. June 6, 2013 Thurs. June 6, 2013 Thurs. July 11, 2013 Thurs.
Last day to drop a course or withdraw  without receiving a grade. September 12, 2012 Wednesday January 30, 2013 Wednesday June 6, 2013 Thurs. June 6, 2013 Thurs. June 6, 2013 Thurs. July 11, 2013 Thurs.
Last day to drop a course without hours counting towards the Enrollment Cap for Texas Residents.
NOTE: Tuition is higher for hours in excess of the cap.
September 12, 2012 Wednesday January 30, 2013 Wednesday June 6, 2013 Thurs. June 6, 2013 Thurs. June 6, 2013 Thurs. July 11, 2013 Thurs.
Graduation: Regular filing period to apply online for graduation - non-refundable $25 fee. Go to myUH (Peoplesoft) to apply. April 6, 2012, Fri. through September 28, 2012, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable. November 2, 2012, Fri. through February 22, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable. April 5, 2013, Fri. through July 5, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable. April 5, 2013, Fri. through July 5, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable. April 5, 2013, Fri. through July 5, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable. April 5, 2013, Fri. through July 5, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable.
Graduation: Late filing period to apply online for graduation - nonrefundable $50 fee. Go to myUH (Peoplesoft) to apply. September 29, 2012, Sat. through October 26, 2012, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable. February 23, 2013, Sat. through March 22, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable. July 6, 2013, Sat. through July 19, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable. July 6, 2013, Sat. through July 19, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable. July 6, 2013, Sat. through July 19, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable.

July 6, 2013, Sat. through July 19, 2013, Fri. Fee is nonrefundable.

Spring holiday; Independence Day holiday.   March 11- 16, 2013 Mon.-Sat. July 4, 2013 Thurs.   July 4, 2013 Thurs.  
Last day to drop a course or withdraw with a ‘W’. November 2, 2012 Friday March 27, 2013 Wednesday July 11, 2013 Thurs. June 25, 2013 Tues. July 10, 2013 Wed. July 30, 2013 Tues.
Thanksgiving holiday November 21-24, 2012 Wednes.- Sat.          
Last day of class. December 8, 2012 Saturday April 29, 2013 Monday August 1, 2013 Thurs. July 1, 2013 Mon. July 23, 2013 Tues. August 5, 2013 Mon.
Make up days for class days officially canceled by the university (if necessary) or Reading Period. December 10, 2012 Mon. April 30, 2013 Tuesday        
Final examination period.
See: Current Final Exam Schedule.
December 11-19, 2012 Tues.-Wed. May 1 - May 9, 2013 Wednes.- Thurs. August 6-8, 2013 Mon.-Wed. July 2-3, 2013 Tues.-Wed. July 24-25, 2013 Wed.- Thurs. August 5-6, 2013 Mon.-Tues.
Official closing of the semester. December 20, 2012 Thursday May 10, 2013 Friday August 7, 2013 Wed. July 3, 2013 Wed. July 25, 2013 Thurs. August 8, 2013 Thurs.
Independence Day holiday.       July 4, 2013 Thurs.    
Commencement. Please also see notes below. December 21, 2012 Friday see notes *** May 10, 2013 Friday see notes ***        

Winter Mini Session 2012

Winter mini session classes will be offered between December 21, 2012 and January 13, 2013. For more detailed information regarding the 2012 Winter Mini Session please go to the Distance Education website.

NOTE***

The following dates may vary by College; please check with your College as early as possible:

  • Deadline for submitting final draft of master’s thesis or dissertation to the committee
  • Deadline for submitting signed original and two copies of approved master’s thesis or dissertation for binding
  • Deadline for master’s and doctoral students to order caps and gowns.
  • Commencement / Convocation
    Please see the current UH Commencement Schedule. Information for some Colleges may also be found by searching the UH Events Calendar using “commencement”.
    See also: graduation application  and cap and gown  information in the Academic Regulations and Degree Requirements section of this catalog.

Notes about 2013 Summer Session Meeting Days:

  • Summer Session 1 (June 3 - August 1, 2013) - classes meet either Mondays and Wednesdays, plus Fridays (June 7, 21, July 5, and 19), or Tuesdays and Thursdays, plus certain Fridays (June 14, 28, July 12, and 26).
  • Summer Session 2 (June 3 - July 1, 2013) - classes meet Mondays through Fridays.
  • Summer Session 3 (June 3 - July 23, 2013) - classes meet Tuesdays through Thursdays.
  • Summer Session 4 (July 8 - August 5, 2013) - classes meet Mondays through Fridays.

Other Landmark Dates: