Mar 01, 2024  
2013-2014 Graduate Catalog 
    
2013-2014 Graduate Catalog [Not Current Academic Year. Consult with Your Academic Advisor for Your Catalog Year]

Faculty: College of Architecture


Colleges  > Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture  > Faculty: College of Architecture

Yared Akalou, Lecturer. Master of Product Design, Illinois Institute of Technology, Institute of Design; Bachelor of Art-Communications, Texas Southern University. yakalou2@uh.edu

Leonard Bachman, Professor, Registered Architect. Master of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. lbachman@uh.edu

Olga Bannova. Research Associate Professor. Master of Science in Space Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Architecture, Moscow Architectural Institute. obannova@uh.edu

Larry Bell, A.I.A.A., ASCE. Professor and Director of Sasakawa International Center for Space Architecture. Registered Architect. Master of Fine Arts, University of Illinois; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. lbell@uh.edu

Elizabeth Bollinger. Professor. Master of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Arts in Mathematics, Louisiana State University; Post-Baccalaureate in Mathematics, Yale University; Bachelor of Science in Mathmatics, Louisiana State University. ebollinger@uh.edu

Cord Bowen, IDSA. Adjunct Assistant Professor and Coordinator Foundation Studios, semesters 1-3 in Architecture, Interior Architecture, Industrial Design. Master of Architecture, Parsons School of Design; Master of Business Administration, University of Houston; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. cbowen3@uh.edu

Fernando Brave, FAIA. Lecturer. Master of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Architecture, Universidad de Belgrano. fbrave@uh.edu

Geoffrey Brune, FAIA. Professor and Director of Honors Thesis Programs. Coordinator Comprehensive Design Studios, semesters 7+8 Registered Architect. Master of Science in Architecture, Texas A&M University; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Certificate for Studies in Historic Preservation, Texas A&M University. gbrune@uh.edu

Robert Burrow. Lecturer. Registered Architect. Master of Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design; Bachelor of Architecture, Southern California Institute of Architecture. rburrow2@uh.edu

Sharon Chapman. Lecturer. Master of Science in Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston.

Joseph Colaco, Ph.D., PE. Professor. Registered Professional Engineer-Texas, California (Structural), California (Civil). Doctorate of Civil Engineering, University of Illinois; Master of Science Civil Engineering, University of Illinois; Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering, University of Bombay, India. jcolaco@uh.edu

Thomas Colbert, AIA. Associate Professor and Registered Architect, Texas. Honors Diploma in Architecture, Cambridge University, UK; AB in Architecture and Urban Planning, Princeton University. tcolbert@uh.edu

Alejandro Colom. Lecturer. Master of Science in Achitectural Studies, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. acolom@uh.edu

Carl Conlee, IV. Lecturer. Bachelor of Fine Arts-Industrial Design, Rhode Island School of Design. csconlee@uh.edu

Scott Cutlip, AIA. Lecturer. Registered Architect, LEED Accredited.Master of Architecture, University of Houston;Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University. scutlip@uh.edu

Tom Diehl. Associate Professor and Coordinator, Intermediate Studios, semesters 4-6, Registered Architect. Graduate Diploma of Architecture, Architectural Association School of Architecture, London, UK; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. tdiehl@uh.edu

Marc El-Khouri. Lecturer. Registered Architect in Beirut, Lebanon at the ordre des ingenieurs et architects du liban. Master of Architecture-Urban Design, Harvard University Graduate School Of Design; Bachelor of Architecture, Rhode Island School of Design; Bachelor of Fine Arts, Rhode Island School of Design. mel-khouri@uh.edu

“Duke” Fleshman. Adjunct Assistant Professor and Research Assistant Professor, Registered Architect, Registered Interior Designer. Master of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Business Administration, University of Oklahoma. ffleshman@uh.edu

Wendy Fok. Assistant Professor, Coordinator Digital Media. Master of Architecture, Princeton University, School of Architecture; Bachelor of Arts (Architecture/Economics), Columbia University, Barnard College; Certification Urban Policy and Planning, Woodrow Wilson School of Public & International Affairs. wfok@uh.edu

Stephen Fox. Adjunct Associate Professor. Bachelor of Architecture, Rice University. sfox3@uh.edu

Dietmar Froehlich. Associate Professor and Co-Director Graduate Studies and Coordinator Levels I + II Design, Registered Architect, Texas and Austria. Master of Architecture, University of Houston; Diplom-Ingenieur für Architektur, Technical University Graz, Austria. dfroehlich@uh.edu

Victoria Goldstein. Adjunct Assistant Professor. Master of Architecture + Urbanism, Architectural Association School of Architecture, London, UK; Bachelor of Architecture, FADU, University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina. vgoldstein@uh.edu

Michael Gonzales. Lecturer. Master of Science in Advanced Architectural Design, GSAPP, Columbia University; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Science in Environmental Design, University of Houston. magonzales@uh.edu

Robert Griffin. Associate Professor and Registered Architect. Bachelor of Architecture, Auburn University. rgriffin3@uh.edu

Jack Hanna. Associate Professor in the School of Art. Master of Fine Arts in Industrial Design, University of Illinois, Urbana; Bachelor of Professional Arts in Industrial Design, Art Center College of Design. jhanna@uh.edu

Paul Homeyer, AIA. Lecturer, Registered Architect, LEED Accredited Professional. Master of Architecture, University of Texas; Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University. phomeyer@uh.edu

Chan Q. Huynh. Lecturer, LEED Accredited Professional. Master of Science in Architecture, Univeristy of Houston; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Science in Environmental Design, University of Houston. chuynh@uh.edu

Meg Jackson. Lecturer. Master of Architecture, Columbia University; Bachelor of Arts in History of Art and Architecture, Middlebury College. mhjackson@uh.edu

Matthew Johnson, AIA. Assistant Professor, Registered Architect. Master of Architecture, Yale University; Bachelor of Arts in Political Science with Humanities Honors, Stanford University. mjohnson13@uh.edu

Donna Kacmar, FAIA. Associate Professor. Director, Materials Research Collaborative Registered Architect LEED 2.1 Accredited. Master of Architecture, Texas A&M University; Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University. Dkacmar@uh.edu

Lannis Kirkland. Assistant Professor and Associate Dean and Director of Undergraduate Programs, Registered Architect, Registered Interior Designer. Master of Architecture, Rice University; Bachelor of Architecture, Auburn University. lkirkland@uh.edu

EunSook Kwon, Ph.D.,IDSA. Associate Professor and Director of Industrial Design Program and Coordinator Industrial Design. Doctorate of Arts Education, The Ohio State University; Master of Arts in Industrial Design Education, The Ohio State University; Master of Fine Arts in Industrial Design, Seoul National University, Korea; Bachelor of Fine Arts in Industrial Design, Seoul National University, Korea. ekwon@uh.edu

Nora Laos, Ph.D. Lecturer. Ph.D., Department of Art and Archaeology, Princeton University; Master of Fine Arts in Art and Archeology, Princeton University Master of Architecture; University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Bachelor of Science in Architectural Studies, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. nlaos@uh.edu

William Lidwell. Lecturer. Master of Science in Instructional Technology, University of Houston-Clear Lake; Bachelor of Art in Psychology, Texas State University. wmlidwell@uh.edu

Robert Lindsey. Professor Emeritus, Registered Architect .Registered Interior Designer. Master of  Architecture, Columbia University; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Science, University of Houston.

Jason Logan. Lecturer. Master of Science in Advanced Architectural Design, Columbia University; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. jlogan@uh.edu

Rafael Longoria. ACSA Distinguished Professor and Co-Director Graduate Studies and Coordinator, Level III Design, Registered Architect. Master of Business Administration, University of Texas, at Austin; Bachelor of Architecture, Rice University; Bachelor of Arts in Architecture and History of Art, Rice University. longoria@uh.edu

Gary Machicek, AIA, LEED AP. Visiting Assistant Professor. Master of Architecture, Rice University; Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A+M University. gmachicek@uh.edu

Gregory Marinic, AIA, ACSA, NCARB, IIDA, IFI, IDEC. Assistant Professor, Director of Interior Architecture. Master of Architecture, University of Maryland; Bachelor of Science Geography/Urban Planning, Ohio University. gnmarinic@uh.edu

Joe Mashburn, FAIA, IDSA. Adjunct Professor, Registered Architect: Texas and Australia. Master of Architecture, Texas A&M University; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. mashburn@uh.edu

Joseph “Mac” McManus, AIA. Adjunct Associate Professor, Registered Architect, Registered Interior Designer. Master of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Arts, University of Houston. jmcmanus2@uh.edu

Joe Meppelink. Adjunct Assistant Professor and Director of Applied Research. Master of Architecture, Rice University; Bachelor of Science in Architecture, University of Michigan. jmeppelink@uh.edu

Zui Lig Ng. Master of Science in Architecture, Cornell University; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. zng2@uh.edu

Peter Noldt. Adjunct Assistant Professor. Master of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Science, Texas A&M University. pnoldt@uh.edu

Patricia Belton Oliver, FAIA. Dean and Professor, Registered Architect-California. Master of Architecture I, University of California, Los Angeles; Bachelor of Arts, University of California, Los Angeles. poliver@uh.edu

Luisa Orto, Ph.D. Lecturer. Doctorate, New York University, Institute of Fine Arts; Master of Arts, New York University, Institute of Fine Arts; Bachelor of Arts, Boston University. lorto@uh.edu

Patrick Peters. Professor and Director of the Graduate Design/Build Studio, LEED Accredited Professional, Registered Architect, NCARB Certified. Master of Architecture, Rice University; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Cincinnati. ppeters@uh.edu

Roya Plauché. Lecturer. Master of Science-Advanced Architecture Design, Columbia University; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. rplauche@uh.edu

James Ray. Lecturer. Master of Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design; Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University. jlray2@uh.edu

Shafik Rifaat, AIA, AICP, ASID. Professor and Coordinator, Urban Design, Registered Architect-Texas, Virginia, Egypt, NCARB Certified. Master of City Planning, Harvard University; Master of Architecture, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Alexandria, Egypt. srifaat@uh.edu

Christopher Robertson. Lecturer. Master of Architecture, University of Texas, Austin; Bachelor of Architecture-Geography, University of Texas, Austin. cnrobertson@uh.edu

Susan Rogers. Assistant Professor/Faculty Fellow and Director, Community Design Resource Center. Master of City Planning, University of California, Berkeley; Master of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. srogers@uh.edu

Michelangelo Sabatino, Ph.D. Associate Professor and Coordinator, History/Theory. Doctorate in Fine Art, University of Toronto; Laurea in Architettura, Istituto Universitario di Architettura di Venezia. msabatino@uh.edu

Ronnie Self. Associate Professor and Registered Architect - Texas and France. Diplôme d’Études Approfondies, Université de Paris I - Panthéon-Sorbonne; Certificat d’Études Approfondies en Architecture, École d’Architecture Paris-Villemin; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Texas, Austin. rself@uh.edu

Kevin Story, AIA. Lecturer, Registered Architect. Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston. jstory@uh.edu

Rives Taylor, FAIA. Adjunct Associate Professor. Registered Architect, LEED BD+C Accredited. Master of Science in Architecture, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Bachelor of Architecture, Rice University; Bachelor of Arts, Rice University. rtaylor2@uh.edu

James Thomas, FAIA. Lecturer. Registered Architect. Bachelor of Science, Rice University.

William “Bill” Truitt. Assistant Professor and Coordinator Intermediate Design-semesters 7-10, Registered Architect: Texas and New York.Master of Architecture, Syracuse University;Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M. wtruitt@uh.edu

John H. Tsai, AIA. Lecturer, Registered Architect, LEED Accredited Professional. Master of Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design; Bachelor of Architecture, Art and Planning, Cornell
University. jhtsai@uh.edu

Drexel Turner. Visiting Assistant Professor. Director, Summer Discovery. Master of Science, University of Texas, Austin; Bachelor of Arts, Rice University. dturner2@uh.edu

Evan Twyford. Lecturer. Bachelor of Fine Arts in Industrial Design, Rhode Island School of Design. estwyford@uh.edu

Andrew Vrana, AIA. Visiting Assistant Professor, Registered Architect. Master of Architecture, Columbia University; Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University. avrana@uh.edu

Gordon Vos, Ph.D. Lecturer. Doctorate in Human Factors and Engineering, Texas A&M University; Master of Science-Industrial Hygiene, Texas A&M University; Bachelor of Science-Bio-Environmental Science, Texas A&M University. gavos@uh.edu

Bruce Webb. Adjunct Professor. Professor, Retired. Master of Architecture and Urban Design, Virginia Polytechnic State University; Bachelor of Architecture, Montana State University; Bachelor of Arts, Allegheny College. bwebb@uh.edu

Adam Wells. Adjunct Assistant Professor.Masters in Industrial Design, Domus Academy, Italy; Bachelor of Fine Arts, Sculpture and Industrial Design, Kansas City Art Institute. acwells@uh.edu

John Zemanek, FAIA. Adjunct Professor, Professor, Retired, Registered Architect. Master of City Programming, Harvard University; Master of Architecture, University of Texas, Austin; Bachelor of Architecture, University of Texas, Austin; Bachelor of Science in Architecture, Texas A&M University. jzemanek@uh.edu

Peter Zweig, FAIA. Professor. Registered Architect. Master of Architecture, Syracuse University. Bachelor of Architecture, Syracuse University Bachelor of Arts, Syracuse University. pzweig@uh.edu